Submit a full license application to the State of New York and the appropriate fee; Be at least 21 years of age; Submit evidence of high school graduation. General Requirements · Education Requirements · Exam Requirement. You may have spoken to other massage therapists who have made the task seem almost impossible or who have given you misinformation. Perhaps, while looking for answers, you saw this lady's hard 13-month experience obtaining a license in the state.
You might wonder if it's worth the hassle, the study hours and the money. The first, and most important task, is to meet the state education requirement. In New York, the minimum education requirement is 1000 hours. If you are considering a career in massage and looking for a massage school, here is a list of massage training programs in New York where you can complete your 1000 hours.
You've probably seen the 1000 hour requirement and automatically assumed that you don't qualify for a license. However, New York has other ways you can qualify. The New York exam is based on the Massage Therapy Work Analysis conducted in 2000 (by the New York Massage Board). Exams are overseen by Scantron Assessment (formerly Castle Worldwide) and its test centers across the country and around the world.
This section makes up 14%, or 20 questions, of the exam. This section makes up 29%, or 40 questions, of the exam. This section represents 51%, or 72 questions, of the exam. This is not a separate exam section, but there will be 20 questions throughout the exam that will include the subject of Eastern Methods (Meridians, Asian Theory, Ayurveda, etc.) in some way.
Possibly ending up in a 1000-hour school in your area. I would contact the New York State board and ask them what they would suggest. Our New York State testing program has additional sections with New York State laws and rules and Eastern theory. The mFlex does not contain these sections at all.
Our mFlex simulator matches the number of questions (100) and the duration of the exam. Our New York State test simulator does the same, matches the number (140 questions) and the time limit, and has the same weight as the New York State test, not the m. A state-licensed massage therapist ensures that only those massage therapists who have met specific requirements treat clients. The massage therapist license helps ensure a level of safety and trust for both the client and the massage therapist.
Most states require people to have a license to practice massage therapy. This assures clients that the massage therapist has met the specific requirements published by the state regulatory board. The requirements for obtaining a massage therapist's license vary by state. For your state's requirements, visit the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) website.
Typically, these professionals must complete between 500 and 1,000 hours of training at a board-approved massage school. Other states may require additional training, such as obtaining CPR certification or taking a first aid class. Upon completion of education, future massage therapists take the state exam for licensing. Massage therapists can choose to obtain board certification in massage therapy.
Board certification is administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). Only five states in California, Kansas, Minnesota, Vermont, and Wyoming have no generalized regulations, although certain cities and counties within those states have their own rules regarding the legal practice of massage. Accreditation is defined as the process by which an agency or association grants public recognition to a school, institute, college, university, or specialized program of study (such as a massage training program) for having met certain qualifications or established standards determined through evaluations which generally involve the submission of a self-assessment report, inspection of the site by a team of experts and evaluation by an independent board or commission. You must also pass a criminal background check, verify your current state massage therapy license, and agree to comply with NCBTMB standards and code of ethics.
There is an experience requirement only for massage therapists licensed in another jurisdiction who apply for license by endorsement. A license for a massage therapist is a state-issued license that allows professionals to practice massage therapy on patients. Although not necessary, specializing in a modality beyond basic massage can expand your job opportunities, increase your earning potential, and give clients and employers confidence that you are committed to the field. The medical massage therapy certification comprises several classes focusing on different parts of the body.
Although there are no board-approved licenses or certificates for these specialties, you may be interested in particular areas such as prenatal massage, myofascial release, Thai bodywork, hot stone therapy, infant massage, and more. New York State has a 500-hour training requirement for licensed massage therapists to complete to work professionally. For example, some states require graduating from an accredited school that is approved by an organization such as the Massage Therapy Accreditation Commission (COMTA), an agency recognized by the U. Massage schools in New York are located in a beautiful state with professional sports teams, beautiful landscapes, and lots of cultural options.
I passed my Florida exam in 1991 (prior to NCETMB) and have practiced massage on an ongoing basis ever since, taking many additional courses in addition to required CEU. NY requires 1000 hours of training I have 2200 hours of training from one of Canada's most prestigious schools, plus 27 years of experience doing full-time massage and teaching part-time for 16 years. . .